top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYanal Irsheid

Why do Jordan need to achieve self-sustainability?

I seek to create the change I want to see for my country, the economy, and the people living in it.


I thought of this issue because it is more interesting for me and more personal. It’s more personal as I seek to create the change I want to see for my country, the economy, and the people living in it. I felt it is more like a challenge for me to prove and raise awareness that Jordan CAN rely on itself by exploiting the natural resources that Jordan has, it would save huge money (as a result of oil imports), create more jobs, and, more importantly, would lead to a prosperous economy that’s self-sustained. I want to create the change that my country deserves because:

  1. Achieving self-sustainability would make the lives of hundreds of thousands of the Jordanian people more sustainable.

  2. The human decision taken by our previous governments by importing almost ALL of our energy needs at high financial costs brought serious consequences to the community and to the national economy.

  3. The human decision taken to rely solely on buying oil and gas from abroad in order to meet our daily energy needs has contributed to the increasing Jordanian debts year after year.

  4. Increasing debts has, in turn, led the Jordanian governments to increase sales and income taxes on its own people, thus, making the cost of living more expensive. These decisions made the Jordanian people poorer with fewer jobs to create.

  5. By taking advantage of the natural resources that Jordan has, it would save huge money (as a result of oil imports), create more jobs, and, more importantly, would lead to a prosperous economy that’s self-sustained.

How can I create the change need to make our lives become more sustainable?

To change this I would plan a way by which to raise awareness among the people of Jordan and also sending a message to our governments that Jordan DOES have natural resources and can SUSTAIN our energy needs for hundreds of years to come.
16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page